Post Therapy After Care

Often clients have heard about post-treatment ‘detox’ symptoms and how uncomfortable they can be. New clients often ask what they can expect after their treatment session with me. My honest answer is experiences can vary and it depends on the reason you’ve come to see me, how long you’ve been experiencing your symptoms prior to coming, and the treatment you have requested/received.

First and foremost, the techniques and therapies I offer usually don’t elicit big detox symptoms – my approach and philosophy is to progress gently on the path to healing and well-being so that clients don’t have these big, sometimes uncomfortable, post treatment reactions. In my 27 years or so I’ve not had anyone that I’m aware of have any unexpected ‘big uncomfortable detox’. However, I have had clients who’ve wanted to work deeply and have been prepared to manage any ‘detox’, (for example emotional or physical processing) that comes up for them, and as long as I’m comfortable with this approach for that particular client, I’m happy to support their choice.

Moving Forward

Sometimes after a treatment session (especially acupuncture for pain relief) some people experience a slight worsening of their symptoms. In the case of acupuncture/no-needle acupuncture this is generally a good sign that the treatment is working. However, the pain shouldn’t last for any longer than a few hours, 24 hours at most.

The vast majority of my clients feel relaxed, calm and more motivated to move forward with their lives. If we’ve done some deeper emotional and/or energy work then there can be a shift, or processing, that takes place after the treatment. This usually passes very quickly and usually indicates that the treatment has had a beneficial effect, and that stuck emotions and or energy have become ‘unblocked’, and are flowing in a more balance and harmonised way. For some clients this shift can be experienced as joy, exuberance, giggles, laughter, fatigue, thirst, relief, or tears. The experiences, as you can see, are not all bad, thankfully.

I usually recommend that clients do some post-treatment after care. I view this after care as an important part of the treatment and continuation of the therapeutic process. After all, if clients have invested time and money in coming for therapy then they’ll want to do everything in their power to get the best results. Here are some of the things I suggest clients can do after their treatment session with me:

  • Drink plenty water every day.
  • Get fresh air every day.
  • Exercise (to your ability and enjoyment) each day – that might just be going for a short walk.
  • Warm, soothing baths., add some Epsom salts.
  • Good sleep hygiene – early to bed, dark, cool room, minimal tv and phone/screen time before bed, minimal food before bed.
  • Do any ‘homework’ that’s been set for you. For my clients I may advise regular listening to the hypnotherapy track I’ve provided, use recommended acupressure points, apply ear seeds to recommended points, and work with EFT (tapping techniques) etc.
  • Keep a journal to write down experiences, thoughts, memories that come to mind in the days/weeks after treatment. This is a really powerful way to see how far you’ve come and that changes that are taking place for you.
  • Think about your next treatment session and your goals for that. Write them down to bring to your next session.
  • Take some time each day to relax and/or meditate. I’ve added some information on guided meditations I offer below (free and to purchase) but there are so many others to choose from if you do a search online.
Walk in nature

These are general guidelines only. Remember experiences can vary from person to person and depending on the treatment you’ve received. If you’re concerned about any discomfort after your treatment do contact your therapist for advice.

Guided Meditations

Guided meditations available (as digital downloads and CD) to purchase from £5 via my website here:

https://www.adelelogan.com/products.html

Free guided meditations available here:

YouTube – Relax your mind with a daydream.

Insight Timer – Relax your mind with a daydream.

Leave a comment